Life is a Marathon

Life is a marathon, not a sprint. 
I have been a Youth Pastor for almost 6 years (August, 2011). In that time, I have worked at three different churches. Before I started, a professor of mine named Phil Baker explained this concept and said “If you have worked in three different churches for two years, you don’t have six years of experience. You have two years of experience three times.” I didn’t understand what he meant in 2010, but I feel like I am starting to understand it in 2017. I have realized that the challenges that ministry throws at you are somewhat procedural. Year 1 has problems and opportunities that Year 2 doesn’t have. I would imagine the same is true for Year 3. There are things I will learn in the future at GCC that you can only learn when you stay at one place long enough to learn those things. My youth pastor was at my home church for 13 years before he moved on. That’s 13 different groups of graduating seniors. That’s an experience that can’t be replicated on a micro scale. This truth has helped me a lot lately, because I am a person who loves trying new things and experiencing positive change. In fact, I love these things so much that I can sometimes lack patience. This is where being at GCC has helped me tremendously. This is a staff who has been here for the long haul and God has used each of them to teach me patience. I am still learning, so I don’t have much to teach here. However, what I do know is this: Life is long and God’s purposes for your life are extensive. You aren’t going to get it done in 2 years and you shouldn’t try to. 

Leave a Reply

